Conservation Board

Agendas & Minutes

Current Agenda | View All

Board Members

There are 5 volunteer members who serve on the Washington County Conservation Board (WCCB) in Washington County, Iowa. Members are appointed by the County Board of Supervisors and serve 5-year terms. Current Board members are:

Kim Prier  City: Ainsworth | Term: 2018-2024
  Bill Nickel  City: Wellman | Term: 2021-2025
Barb Donkersloot  City: Washington | Term: 2022-2026
        Stan Stoops  City: Washington | Term: 2018-2022
                                                Craig Capps  City: Kalona | Term: 2009-2023 


  • To acquire, develop, maintain, and make available to the inhabitants of Washington County the public parks, preserves, parkways, playgrounds, recreation centers, county forests, wildlife and other conservation area
  • To promote and preserve the health and general welfare of the people of Washington County
  • To encourage the orderly development and conservation of natural resources
  • To cultivate good citizenship by providing programs of public recreation


The annual operating budget of the Conservation Board is just over $680,000 through Washington County's general fund. Money is also received through REAP (Resource Enhancement And Protection Act) funding and through revenues generated by user fees, crop sales, and other income.

The Washington County Conservation Board manages nearly 2,500 acres of land within the county.

Park search