- Recreation Vehicles
- ATV / OHV / ORM Registrations & Titles
ATV / OHV / ORM Registrations & Titles
The Recorder’s office partners with Iowa Department of Natural Resources to register and title ATVs, ORVs and snowmobiles for Washington County residents.
Registrations expire December 31 of each year. A yearly registration is $17.75. A penalty of $5.00 is applied to any registration that is not renewed by the expiration date. Effective January 1, 1998, titles are required on all new and transferred snowmobiles. Effective January 1, 2000, titles are required on all new and transferred ATVs.
Items needed when transferring an ATV, Snowmobile or OHV
v Bill of Sale – shows sale tax has been paid, if applicable.
v Title – signature of seller required on back.
Change of ownership not made within 30 days from the sale date will be charged a $5.00 penalty, in addition to normal fee.
ATV/Snowmobile Registration Application Form
Iowa Sales Tax Information:
v Sales of all Off-Highway Vehicles in Iowa are subject to the state sales tax of 6% plus local option taxes, if any. This applies to sales by individuals, as well as dealers.
v Anyone purchasing an OHV from an individual should obtain a receipt that shows the cost of the OHV, or note price on back of registration.
Snowmobiles operated on public land, designated trails and riding areas, and public ice must display an IDNR Resident User Permit. Resident User Permits may be purchased at any vendor that sells hunting/fishing licenses.
For more information regarding ATV, ORV and Snowmobile laws, visit the Iowa Department of Natural Resources website at www.iowadnr.com or contact Washington County DNR officer Wes Gould at 641-660-3441.
For questions regarding riding ATVs on county roads contact Washington County Engineer’s Office at 319-653-7731.
Registrations end at 4:00pm each business day.